Emergency Management Standard

The ANSI/EMAP 5-2022 Emergency Management Standard by EMAP is a set of 73 standards by which programs that apply for EMAP accreditation are evaluated.  The Emergency Management Standard is designed as a tool for continuous improvement as part of the voluntary accreditation process for local, state, federal, higher education, and tribal emergency management programs.

The Emergency Management Standard covers:

  • Program Management, Administration and Finance, and Laws and Authorities
  • Hazard Identification, Risk Assessment and Consequence Analysis
  • Hazard Mitigation
  • Prevention
  • Continuity Planning and Procedures
  • Operational Planning and Procedures
  • Incident Management
  • Resource Management, Mutual Aid and Logistics
  • Communications and Warning
  • Facilities
  • Training
  • Exercises, Evaluations and Corrective Action
  • Emergency Public Education and Information

EMAP maintains a four-year cycle for the Emergency Management Standard. The four-year review cycle is designed to ensure committee and commission review of comments from the public, applicant programs, assessors, and evolving industry practices.  The Emergency Management Standard is reviewed and updated through the work of the EMAP Technical Committee, which makes recommendations to the EMAP Commission.  The EMAP Technical Committee consists of members from 3 Interest Categories:

    1. Public Representative: An individual who serves within a public or government emergency management or public safety program.
    2. Private Representative: An individual or entity that serves within a privately owned business directly related to or in the service of the emergency management or public safety field.
    3. General Interest: The General Interest category is comprised of members who may use EMAP policy, direction, and standards to further apply prevention and protection measures for specific populations and/or specific critical functions.

EMAP will retain an allowance for using previous standards for programs that have an assessment scheduled when the new version of standards goes into effect.
View EMAP’s ANSI Standard Operating Procedures for more information.

Scroll to Top