EMAP Leadership

The EMAP Leadership is comprised of the EMAP Commission and two standing committees: the Program Review Committee and the Technical Committee. The EMAP Commission is the governing and decision-making body of the Emergency Management Accreditation Program (EMAP).  Responsibilities of the EMAP Commission include the following:

  • Establishing and maintaining standards for emergency management programs;
  • Administering an accreditation process that encourages applicant programs to bring their emergency management programs into compliance with those standards;
  • Conducting an on-site assessment of the applicant’s compliance;
  • Acknowledging compliance with programs by issuing accreditation;
  • Developing and maintaining working relationships with national, regional, state, and local associations in emergency management and related fields for mutual growth and benefit;
  • Ensuring that the business affairs and the programs of the Commission and its affiliates are conducted on a fair and nondiscriminatory basis;
  • Educating legislative and executive branches of government and the public on the importance of fully capable emergency management programs at all levels of government based upon high standards;
  • Promoting the concept of voluntary self-regulation inherent in the accreditation process;
  • Accepting fees, grants, gifts, bequests, and other contributions that support the purposes of EMAP; and
  • Cooperating with other private and public agencies and organizations will improve the accreditation program and the delivery of emergency management services.

The EMAP Commission has established and will maintain standards for emergency management programs and urban search and rescue resources considering a full range of program elements. The commission’s purpose is to set minimum acceptable standards and encourage the achievement of effective programs. The standards describe what constitutes an effective program rather than how it should be managed. The EMAP Commission identifies and maintains a means for self-assessment in preparing for certification and accreditation and provides trained and qualified assessors to conduct on-site evaluations of programs when applicants have completed the self-assessment phase of the certification/accreditation process.
For more information on EMAP Committees, see the links below on individual committees.

If you are interested in serving on an EMAP committee, including the EMAP Technical Committee, submit an application here.

EMAP Commission Members

  • Nick Crossley, Hamilton County (OH) Emergency Management, Vice Chairperson
  • Marcia Deppen, Maryland Emergency Management Agency
  • Jody Ferguson, Pierce County (WA) Emergency Management
  • Judson Freed, Ramsey County (MN) Emergency Management, Secretary/Treasurer
  • Bryan Koon, IEM
  • Kevin Lyne, Illinois Task Force 1 – MABAS Illinois
  • Angee Morgan, Kansas Division of Emergency Management, Chairperson
  • Tina Owens, Arkansas Division of Emergency Management
  • Robie Robinson, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga
  • Peter Rzeszotarski, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
  • Ryan Turner, Henderson (NV) Emergency Management
  • William Turner, Connecticut Emergency Management and Homeland Security

EMAP Committees

  • Program Review
  • Technical Committee

The Program Review Committee is responsible for considering applicant programs being presented for accreditation, using Assessment Reports prepared by assessment teams, and making recommendations regarding accreditation status.

Members include:

  • Kerre Avery, Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
  • Doug Cooper, Mobile Fire-Rescue Department
  • Marcia Deppen, Maryland Emergency Management Agency
  • Robert Ezelle, Washington Military Division
  • Donald Keith, University of Alabama
  • Steven Lerner, Seminole County Office of Emergency Management
  • James Monsu, Philadelphia District USACE,Vice Chairperson
  • Angee Morgan, Kansas Emergency Management Division, Chairperson
  • Jorge Rodriguez, El Paso City-County Office of Emergency Management
  • Patrick Sheehan, Tennessee Emergency Management Agency
  • Greg Swanson, Gwinnett County Emergency Management
  • Ryan Turner, City of Henderson, NV, Chairperson

The Technical Committee is responsible for developing new or revised language for the standards and the process, reviews, appeals, interpretations, compliance enforcement, on-site assessment materials, training, self-assessment guidance, and other training and education activities.

The EMAP Technical Committee consists of members from 3 Interest Categories:

  1.  Public Representative: An individual who serves within a public or government emergency management or public safety program.
  2.  Private Representative: An individual or entity that serves within a privately owned business directly related to or in the service of the emergency management or public safety field.
  3. General Interest: The General Interest category is comprised of members who may use EMAP policy, direction, and standards to further apply prevention and protection measures for specific populations and/or specific critical functions.

Members include:

  • Kevin, Lyne, MABAS Illinois, Chairperson (Category 3)
  • Brendan McCluskey, King County (WA) Emergency Management, Vice-Chairperson (Category 1)
  • Michelle Anderson, Orange County (CA) Emergency Management (Category 1)
  • Kathleen Donahue, North Dakota Emergency Services (Category 1)
  • John Ford, FEMA National Integration Center (Category 3)
  • Nancy Freeman, Elite Business Strategies (Category 2)
  • Kerry Hinds, Barbados Dept. of Emergency Management (Category 3)
  • Elizabeth Thomas, ThomasTechSolutions, LLC (Category 3)
  • Ron Perry, ABS Group (Category 2)
  • Peter Rzeszotarski, CDC (Category 3)
  • John Shaw, Ernst & Young LLP (Category 2)
  • Michael Shaw, Gwinnett County Office of Emergency Management (Category 1)

Meet the EMAP Staff

Scroll to Top